• Home
  • Comics
  • Movies
  • Videos
  • Games
  • TV
  • Characters
  • Shop

Guardians of the Galaxy (Movie)

Get the Full Tracklist For Marvel's Guardians of the Galaxy Soundtrack

See what Star-Lord pops in his tape deck while defending the universe!

Hollywood Records and Marvel are set to release three albums from Marvel’s "Guardians of the Galaxy" on July 29, 2014.

Guardians of the Galaxy soundtrack album cover deluxe edition

Guardians of the Galaxy Deluxe Soundtrack
The "Guardians of the Galaxy Deluxe" soundtrack features classic 1970s songs from the film, plus score by composer Tyler Bates (“Watchmen,” “Slither,” “Dawn of the Dead”); "Guardians of the Galaxy Awesome Mix Vol. 1" is the collection of 12 songs including Blue Swede’s “Hooked on a Feeling,” “I’m Not in Love” by 10cc, Redbone’s “Come and Get Your Love,” and The Runaways’ “Cherry Bomb”; and "Guardians of the Galaxy is the digital score soundtrack. The film opens in U.S. theaters on August 1, 2014.

Music plays a major role in “Guardians of the Galaxy” as the 1970s songs featured in the film are part of the storyline in a unique way. Explaining how the songs come to play in the story, director James Gunn says, “One of the main story points in the movie is that Quill has this compilation tape [Awesome Mix Vol. 1] that he got from his mother before she died that she made for him. It was of songs that she loved, all songs from the 1970s, and that’s the only thing he has left of his mother and that’s the only thing he has left of his home on Earth. He uses that as a connection to his past and to the sadness that he feels of having left all that and lost all that.”

Guardians of the Galaxy soundtrack album cover score edition

Guardians of the Galaxy Original Score
Gunn also asked composer Tyler Bates to complete some of the tracks for the movie before the start of principal photography so he could play them on set. “The score is also very important,” says Gunn. “I worked very hard early on with Tyler Bates, our composer, whom I’ve done three other movies with, to write part of the score ahead of time so that I’m able to use it on set for big emotional sequences and big action sequences. We can actually play the music on set and the actors can really understand where we’re going with it tonally. Our actors have a much better idea of what this film is because of the music that we use, both score and soundtrack.”

Executive Soundtrack Producers: James Gunn, Kevin Feige and Dave Jordan

Music Supervisor: Dave Jordan

"Guardians of the Galaxy Awesome Mix Vol. 1" track list follows:

Guardians of the Galaxy Awesome Mix Vol. 1

1. “Hooked on a Feeling” Performed by Blue Swede
2. “Go All the Way” Performed by Raspberries
3. “Spirit in the Sky”* Performed by Norman Greenbaum
4. “Moonage Daydream” Performed by David Bowie
5. “Fooled Around and Fell in Love” Performed by Elvin Bishop
6. “I’m Not in Love” Performed by 10cc
7. “I Want You Back” Performed by Jackson 5
8. “Come and Get Your Love” Performed by Redbone
9. “Cherry Bomb” Performed by The Runaways
10. “Escape (The Piña Colada Song)” Performed by Rupert Holmes
11. “O-O-H Child” Performed by The Five Stairsteps
12. “Ain’t No Mountain High Enough” Performed by Marvin Gaye and Tammi Terrell

*Not in film

"Guardians of the Galaxy Deluxe," "Guardians of the Galaxy Awesome Mix Vol. 1" and "Guardians of the Galaxy" digital score soundtrack will be available on July 29, 2014. The album is now available for pre-order at Amazon.com: http://smarturl.it/gotgama1.

Related Characters

MORE IN Guardians of the Galaxy (Movie) See All

MORE IN Movies See All



My only problem is that Track 12 "Ain't no Mountain High Enough" is actually on Awesome Mix Vol 2... According to GOTG.


Excellent movie great soundtrack. I hope some vinyl copies are producEd.


You know what song would have been great for the film? ROCK THIS TOWN - STARY CATS! Hopefully, Mr. Gunn will consider it for the 2nd mix tape on the next film.


Is there a chance that we will ever get this album on cassette tape? :)


I am really thinking about buying this CD. I am listening to 'Hooked On A Feeling' like 10 times a day rate now.


Movie soundtrack of the year right here!


now i want the 2nd mixtape! the music was so perfect for the amazing movie!!


Excellent soundtrack, classic songs! It oddly fit the movie well too.


The movie and soundtrack was fantastic.  I didn't know if I would actually like the movie since I'm not familiar with any of the characters. I love all five of the characters.  It was cool to see something this odd and fun. 

Iamstu member

not to nitpick but wasn't "Ain't no mountain high enough" on a different tape? :S


@Iamstu Yes, it was on Awesome Mix Volume 2, the last gift his mom gave him.


Would like to see a limited cassette and/or vinyl release comes out as well. Great song choices too.